Music snobs are missing the point.

I have no patience for music snobs. You know, the ones that snort with derision when they hear Taylor Swift happily be-bopping out of your car speakers and say, ” I only listen to …(insert moody, indie band here). To me music serves many purposes, so why would you limit yourself to one genre, one sound? Pop music can either irritate or up-lift me; if it irritates than I try blues, rock, r&b or country. What ever serves to soothe my frayed nerves. Each time/ each mood, something different is needed. At night, during one of my frequent bouts of insomnia I will listen to classical to soothe my mind but I also turn to classical if I need to be inspired, it can get my creativity flowing. My iPod is jammed full of hair bands, rap, r&b, country, pop…. you name it, it’s there. All except jazz, I just can’t get into jazz. If a song makes you feel good, soothes what’s aching , touches your heart, makes you think, or is just simply a lot of fun – what’s the harm? With so much negativity and violence in our world music should never be the enemy.

Yes, I get that there is a lack of “true music”, out there and we are being inundated with over produced drivel. Blah, blah, blah. Someone must like it, must feel happy listening to it,or else it wouldn’t sell. There is a place for it. I am very aware of the struggle for artists to have control over their own music and to be fairly compensated for their work, so I try to pay attention to who the artist is and their story and I buy independently produced music all the time.

I listen to old-school, new-school, and clearly-never-finished-school. I draw the line at racist, homophobic or misogynistic music, though I have to admit I do have an appreciation for some of Eminem’s work and he has been horrifically guilty of all three offences. I feel that music is a powerful force in our lives and our society, and our preferences are hugely personal and should not be open to ridicule. If hillbilly twang is your thang, if grill wearin’ hip hop thugs get you jumpin’, if scream metal speaks to your inner lonely child…you do you. No judgment needed from anyone else.

2015/01/img_1907.png

One thought on “Music snobs are missing the point.

  1. Yes but I’m a bit of a music snob myself. I don’t listen to any songs that have the capacity to make me question the worth of a gender- Chris Brown- These Hoes ain’t Loyal, or to any songs where the lyrics are oft repeated and is heavily dependent on its music.
    By the way, please come visit-
    http://insearchofperfecthair.wordpress.com
    I’d love to have you.

Leave a comment